Andrea F Hill
1 min readFeb 4, 2018

--

I don’t disagree completely, but can I clarify?

I don’t think Jobs to be Done is about what customers want to Do , but what customers want (to be Done).

That’s why focusing on what success and outcomes looks like makes sense. Customers want to attain a goal; how will they know they’ve got there?

Most of us have to do lots of things we don’t want to do (I still have to unpack boxes from my move two days ago)…That’s the functional Job I want to have done. Yes, we can dig into why — do I want to feel settled? Do I need to find the chromecast, that’s still buried in a box somewhere? Regardless of the specifics of why, the fact remains: I want it Done.

If it’s wrapped in a marketing bow that shows a happy family smiling in an immaculate home, great. But it’s actually getting the Job Done (get these boxes out of my home!) and not how it’s positioned that matters to me.

Summary: What Customers Want (to get Done), not What Customers Want (to Do)

--

--

Andrea F Hill

Director with the BC Public Service Digital Investment Office, former web dev & product person. 🔎 Lifelong learner. Unapologetic introvert