InsecuritiesšŸ˜•

Andrea F Hill
3 min readJan 21, 2021

--

Weeknotes #34: Jan 11ā€“14, 2021

Iā€™m falling out of my weeknotes habit a bit, writing more when the moment strikes. But I do want to tie this to a time in my public service career.

This one is a bit tough to write publicly, but Iā€™m just going to freeform whatā€™s in my mind to get it out of my head.

In my current project, I am working with a few others.

  • I set firm deadlinesā€¦ that slipped by. I am trying really hard not to do everything myself, but then I feel like Iā€™m being too much of a pushover.
  • Iā€™m worried that if I give the other people Iā€™m working with a list of everything I believe needs to be changed, Iā€™ll frustrate them
  • But if I just change things, then things get out of sync/I may not be empowering them/they may be oblivious to things like inconsistent fonts, grammatical errors etc
  • I started off by listing out what I felt needed to be done. If people didnā€™t step up because they were working on other things, do I hound them or just let it go, as long as the work gets done?
  • If someone wants to work on something that isnā€™t of high value to me, do I tell them not to, or encourage them to do what they think is best?
  • What if Iā€™m wrong and the scope, time, etc needs to change?
  • How can I be a joy to work with? Or at least, not make people dislike working with me because I have high expectations, like to meet deadlines, etc?

I had a good conversation with a colleague yesterday about leadership and our previous roles, which helped me reflect. I am used to standing up programs and initiatives. Often Iā€™m a team of one, with no real feedback from others (nor working collaboratively with peers). So now having a manager who actually reviews what I do and gives feedback seems strange. Itā€™s causing me to doubt myself a bit.

So I want to check in to make sure Iā€™m on the right track, but at the same time Iā€™ve had more autonomy in the past to just get things done, so perhaps I donā€™t need that ā€˜approvalā€™ or perspective and should just be able to trust myself.

As well, I donā€™t quite understand how our ā€˜teamsā€™ work together. Itā€™s helping me really value the work Maddy Ewins put into making our fellowship trio a trusting, collaborative unit. As a project lead, I feel some ownership over the deliverables, but another member of the team expressed that he has a sense of pride and ownership over the specific deliverable he was working on. How do those align?

Specifically, I had taken a template, and made some edits (making font sizes across slides consistent). My teammate then redid the deck, reverting the font sizes. The explanation was that Iā€™d deviated from the template so they just started again from scratch.

Not too long ago, there was a comment from Yesenia Perez-Cruz at Shopify (I believe) that a design system is a floor, not a ceiling. We shouldnā€™t see templates and patterns as fixed, but should be open to improvements. Obviously we donā€™t want to just let things be changed willy-nilly, otherwise what is the point of a template at all, but I donā€™t know how to learn what is fixed and what is flexible. I felt like as the project lead, I wanted my deck to have consistent fonts ā€” but did the existence of an established template trump that?

Regardless, having the deck redone was frustrating and disheartening.

This is where the feelings come in, because isnā€™t that what I was doing? I took the deck I was given, and quietly went in and updated some grammatical errors, moved some content, etc. Is that any different?

I am embarrassed to admit that I donā€™t know the best way to work with others. I know that there is a factor of ā€œdeliverable- vs people-focusedā€ at play here. But I feel like I should already know how to handle this, and I donā€™t.

It sorta terrifies me to admit it here, that my management will read this and say they made a mistake. But at the same time, I guess itā€™s liberating.. itā€™s recognizing that I know Iā€™m not perfect, but I do want to learn how to work better with othersā€¦ :small-smile:

Also.. it may be fair to recognize that itā€™s winter, so there may be some Seasonal Affective Disorder kicking in, as well as the fact Iā€™m adjusting to a new move.. this post from a few years ago resonates a bit ā€” https://afhill.medium.com/let-me-be-real-ddcdf5af521e

--

--

Andrea F Hill

Director with the BC Public Service Digital Investment Office, former web dev & product person. šŸ”Ž Lifelong learner. Unapologetic introvert